[AI] Differently-abled women achievers given awards

Gopalakrishnan gopalakrishnan_vip at yahoo.co.in
Sat Jul 31 20:33:35 EDT 2010

Differently-abled women achievers given awards 


CHENNAI, July 31, 2010 


Special Correspondent


For the fourth consecutive year, Ascendas in association with the Tamil Nadu Differently Abled Federation Charitable Trust (TNDAFC) on Friday honoured 10 differently abled women achievers of the State for excelling in their respective fields. 


Letika Saran, Director-General of Police, presented Ascendas Excellence Award 2010 to achievers in music, art, academics, medicine and sports. The award comprised a trophy, certificate and cash prize. On behalf of Ascendas, Ms. Saran presented Rs.1 lakh cheque to the TNDAFC.


Delivering the address as the Chief Guest, Ms. Saran complimented the achievers and said, “Your hard work will go a long way in the empowerment of women. There might be a difficulty. It is a challenge. If you overcome these challenges, then you can emerge successful. One should have grit, determination and will to succeed, and then nothing can stop you from succeeding.” 


She said the Police Department too employed differently abled persons in different posts. 


They put in same hours of work and it was difficult to differentiate them from others. Ajit Singh, Consul General of Singapore in Chennai, hoped that in the days to come India would have more number of women achievers. 


But, public and private sector firms should contribute towards empowerment of women. 


TNDAFC president Chidambaranathan said Ascendas Excellence Award brought the hidden talent of women achievers and it would serve as an eye-opener for the others in the State. 


Lee Fu Nyap, Assistant Chief Executive Officer, Ascendas India, spoke. The winners list included Gayathri Sankaran (Padmashri awardee for her distinguished contribution to music), Dr. Aiswarya Rao (doctor by profession), J. Anuradha (winner of wheel chair race in Chennai marathon), K. Radhabai (first visually disabled woman to receive a Ph D degree in south India), Sowmya Simhan, Thiruchelvi, Bhavan Botta, B. Meenakshi, K. Sujata and T. Sakthi Rani. 




More information about the AccessIndia mailing list