[AI] Committee to draft new disability law.

Asudani, Rajesh rajeshasudani at rbi.org.in
Thu May 6 05:42:47 EDT 2010

Why don't we speak to any members of committee and apprise them of our demands and suggestions instead for waiting for draft to be made public on which baits are held, now.
If any of the members is accessible and willing to listen, she/he may take up the wider concerns and have them incorporated in the law.
I believe at least one committee member is also a member in this list.
So, what is the harm in adopting the strategy.
Committees should not function in ivory towers or vacuum.

Instead of committee proceedings being a closed secret, I think as citizens of democratic country, we should know about deliberations and even try to have our points reach the committee members!!!!

Anyway, the process has begun, and high hopes were pinned on a brand new statute instead of half-baked amendments which were well on the way to become law. So, now let us wait for the GODOT!!!!


"Perhaps our role on this planet is not to worship God-- but to create Him."

                                        --Arthur C. Clarke

(Rajesh Asudani)

Assistant General Manager,
Reserve Bank of India
O: 0712 2806676
Res: 0712 2591349

-----Original Message-----
From: accessindia-bounces at accessindia.org.in [mailto:accessindia-bounces at accessindia.org.in] On Behalf Of Suhas Karnik
Sent: Wednesday, May 05, 2010 10:53 PM
To: accessindia at accessindia.org.in
Subject: [AI] Committee to draft new disability law.

Dear friends.

The ministry of social justice and empowerment, government of Indiahas constituted a committee of experts to draft a new disability law which will replace the existing one.

MSSudha Kaul shall be the chairperson. Other members are G. Syamala executive director of A.A.D.I. DR Bhushan Punani, executive director of Blind people's association,  MS Jayashree Ravindran of ability foundation Chennai, Shree Karna from Hydrabad, MS merry Baruva, MS Uma Tuli former chief disability commissioner, Shree Rajiv Raturi of Human rights law network New Delhi.

MS Punam Natrajan and general Cardozo will be the members of this committee by virtue of their office, that is chairpersons of national trust and rehabilitation council of India respectively.

Details awaited.

Suhas Karnik.

Catch the latest in the world of fashion

To unsubscribe send a message to accessindia-request at accessindia.org.in with the subject unsubscribe.

To change your subscription to digest mode or make any other changes, please visit the list home page at

Notice: This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you are not the intended recipient, any dissemination, use, review, distribution, printing or copying of the information contained in this e-mail message and/or attachments to it are strictly prohibited. If you have received this email by error,  please notify us by return e-mail or telephone and immediately and permanently delete the message and any attachments. The recipient should check this email and any attachments for the presence of viruses. The Bank accepts no liability for any damage caused by any virus transmitted by this email.

More information about the AccessIndia mailing list